University of Illinois. University Senate Conference | University of Illinois Archives

Name: University of Illinois. University Senate Conference

Historical Note:

The University Senate Conference, formerly the Senate Coordinating Council, was established in 1957.1 The name of the Council was changed in 1970. The University Senate Conference is comprised of six representatives from each of the three campus Senates: Urbana-Champaign, Chicago Medical Center, and Chicago Circle.2 The Conference seeks to promote agreement and consistency among the Senates. If the Conference finds a matter acted upon by one of the Senates to be of concern to one or more of the other Senates, it refers the matter to the other Senates. The Conference sends proposals of the Senates, as well as any additional recommendations of its own, to the President for transmission to the Board of Trustees.3

1. Senate Coordinating Council Minutes and Reports, April 8, 1957.

2. Constitution, Bylaws, Standing Rules of the Senate of the Urbana-Champaign Campus, University of Illinois, through June 15, 1978.

3. Board of Trustees Transactions, 55th Report, July 23, 1969, p. 559.

Page Generated in: 0.101 seconds (using 37 queries).
Using 5.7MB of memory. (Peak of 5.85MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign