Michael Cameron (1959-2022) | University of Illinois Archives

Name: Michael Cameron (1959-2022)

Historical Note:

Michael Cameron (1959-2022) was born in Utica, New York. A bassist, educator, and writer, Cameron graduated in 1981 from Indiana University with a Bachelor's of Music, and from the same institution in 1982 with a Master's of Music. While there, he studied with Murray Grodner, Barry Green, and Stuart Sankey. He began his teaching career at West Texas State University in 1982, before transitioning to Baylor University in 1983. In 1985, he joined the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign's School of Music String Division as professor of double bass. During his time at the University of Illinois, he taught several classes (MUS 437 and MUS 560) in addition to his bass studio, served on many School of Music and university committees, and served several tenures as head of the string division. He served as principal bass both of the Sinfonia da Camera and of the Champaign-Urbana Symphony Orchestra. Cameron played in the Ciosoni (Esperanto for "all sounds") trio alongside clarinetist Paul Martin Zonn and later Eric Mandat, and flutist Tim Lane. The group was known for its unusual instrumentation and the technical expertise of its members, performing interpretations of known works as well as works written for the trio.

Cameron published many articles with the Chicago Tribune, especially concert reviews, and with the American String Teachers Association and Bass World. He was a member of the International Society of Bassists. His performance history includes many world premieres and American premieres for bass, as well as works dedicated to or commissioned by him. His repertoire varied widely, and included works in both classical and modern styles. Cameron began the company BassScores.com which published works specifically for the double bass, many of which were arranged or edited by Cameron. Cameron was featured on or appeared in multiple published recordings, including "Progression," "Sound Bites," "Canto: Music for Double Bass by Thomas Frederickson," "Teresa LeVelle: The Shadowlands," "Uncommon Voices," and "Exhortations: Virtuoso Solo Instrumental and Chamber Music."

Note Author: Kelda Habing

Page Generated in: 0.092 seconds (using 37 queries).
Using 5.68MB of memory. (Peak of 5.83MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign