Tuesday Morning Musical Club (Champaign, Il) (1914-) | University of Illinois Archives

Name: Tuesday Morning Musical Club (Champaign, Il) (1914-)
Variant Name: Tuesday Morning Music Club

Historical Note: The Tuesday Morning Musical Club (TMMC) was formed in October 1914 by five women who felt the need for association among the women musicians of Champaign and Urbana, Illinois, and these founding members (Mrs. Anne Angell Webster, Mrs. Susie Young  Fay, Mrs. Lena Marshall, Mrs. Harriet Blair Ward, and Mrs. Mary Norris Paul)  brought together twenty-six other women from the community to form this women's music organization.  The following year a formal constitution was adopted by the TMMC which stated that its purpose was "to advance the interests and promote the culture of musical arts in the community and the mutual improvement of its members.  In 1916, under the leadership of the club's president, Harriet Ward, the TMMC printed its first year book and began printing programs for its bi-montly music concerts and membership meetings.  In March 1945 the club began a series of annual gifts to the University of Illinois' Music Library to honor the five founding members of the TMMC.  These annual gifts of music books and scores were chosen by the membership at large in direct consultation with the University's  Director of the School of Music and Music Librarian.  Other activities included sponsoring guest performers, producing the annual Christmas carol program, and the staging of operas and other large scale music works within the community.  The TMMC continues to play an active role in promoting the musical performances of the Urbana-Champaign community's women musicians, and is recognized as the longest continually-operated women's music organization in Central Illinois and possibly the country.
Sources: Margaret Khachaturian, Tuesday Morning Music Club Historian, 1987-2014.

Page Generated in: 0.1 seconds (using 37 queries).
Using 5.68MB of memory. (Peak of 5.82MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign