Department of Mathematics History (Digital Surrogates) | University of Illinois Archives

Department of Mathematics History (Digital Surrogates)

Digital surrogates from the Department of Mathematics History include a digitized copy of master's thesis by Edna C. Stanford on "The History of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Illinois" including a 21-page narrative history of the department which developed after the hiring of Professors Edgar J. Townsend in 1893, George A. Miller in 1906, Arthur R. Crathorne in 1907, Ernest J. Wilczynski in 1907, Arnold Emch in 1911, Robert D. Carmichael in 1915, Arthur B. Coble in 1918, Henry Brahana in 1920 and Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky in 1934.  The history also includes a two-page history of the mathematics library and 88 pages devoted to graphs, tables, lists and maps showing curriculum development, faculty, salaries, scholars and fellows, graduate students and research as compared to other universities.

An access copy of this material is available upon request.

Administrative access to preservation, nearline, and access files are available to archives staff at:

Phys. Desc:
Electronic records for this Series are available in PDF file format and have a size of 5.69 MB
University of Illinois Archives
Found in:
Copyright of these records is not owned by the University of Illinois. Please contact us for more information about these materials or if you would like to request a copy for personal use.

Page Generated in: 0.129 seconds (using 77 queries).
Using 6.65MB of memory. (Peak of 6.85MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign