Letterbooks, 1888-1911
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description:

Letterpress copybooks containing correspondence of Eugene Davenport, William L. Pillsbury, Thomas J. Burrill, George E. Morrow, Perry G. Holden, William J. Kennedy, Wilber J. Fraser, Isabel Bevier and other college and Experiment Station staff members relating to publications, exhibits, United States Department of Agriculture, Farmer's Institute, insects, agricultural instruction, legislative appropriations, domestic science, plant diseases, university farms, buildings, staff, personal affairs, budgets, meetings, travel, students, shipments and equipment. The correspondence concerns College of Agriculture business and includes replies to inquiries received by the Agricultural Experiment Station.

For similar correspondence, see Experiment Station (1901-1904) and Agronomy (1899-1919) Letterbooks (Record Series 8/2/2 and 8/6/3).

Held at:
University of Illinois Archives
19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 333-0798
Fax: (217) 333-2868
Email: illiarch [at] illinois.edu
Record Series Number: 8/1/1
Created by: University of Illinois at U-C. College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences
Volume: 6.3 cubic feet
Acquired: 3/27/69
More information is available at https://files.archon.library.illinois.edu/uasfa/0801001.pdf
Arrangement: Chronological
Biographical Note for University of Illinois at U-C. College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences :

Agricultural instruction was provided for in the Land Grant Act of Congress in 1862 and it was one of the chief aims of the university at its beginning.1 In 1867, the Board of Trustees established the Agricultural Department, made up of the School of General Agriculture and the School of Horticulture, Fruit-growing, and Landscape Gardening.2 It was formally recognized as a College and the dean's office was established in 1877.3 The dean is appointed biennially by the Board of Trustees and his duties include: preparing the budget; representing and reporting on the college to outside authorities; and coordinating the activities of the departments and special offices.4 The dean is also responsible for the operations of the Office of Publications and the Office of Agricultural Communications, both established in 1966,5 and the Office of International Agricultural Programs, which was established in 1966 to coordinate college-wide programs such as the International Soybean Program.6 In 1965, the title of the office changed from Dean of the College, Director of the Experiment Station, and Director of the Cooperative Extension Service to Dean of the College of Agriculture.7

1. Board of Trustees Transactions, 1st Report, Laws Concerning the Industrial University, Laws of Congress, p. 1-3; 1st Report, May 7, 1867, p. 47.

2. Board of Trustees Transactions, 1st Report, May 8, 1867, p. 50.

3. Board of Trustees Transactions, 9th Report, June 7, 1877, p. 45.

4. University of Illinois Statutes, May 17, 1972, p. 12-14

5. Board of Trustees Transactions, 54th Report, October 13, 1966, p. 169.

6. Board of Trustees Transactions, 54th Report, September 21, 1966, p. 84.

7. Board of Trustees Transactions, 53rd Report, February 17, 1965, p. 393.

Subject Index
Agricultural Experiment Station
Agricultural Legislation
Home Economics
Illinois Farmers Institute
University Administration
Genres/Forms of Material
Languages of Materials
English [eng]