General Correspondence File, 1979-2000
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description: General Correspondence File of Stanley O. Ikenberry (1935-) (President of the University of Illinois, 1979-1994), including correspondence, reports, memoranda, agendas, minutes, newsclippings and publications received from or sent to trustees, deans, university administrators, faculty, private and public corporation and foundation officials, state and federal government officials and the public concerning admissions and enrollment; Allerton Park; reports of colleges, schools, institutes, bureaus, and departments; American Council on Education, Association of American Colleges, Association of American Universities, commencement, committees, College of Dentistry, College of Engineering, Council of Ten, Ford Foundation, Guggenheim Fellowship, Museum of Science and Industry, U.S. Army and Air Force, U.S. Department of Education; affirmative action (1980); alumni; athletics; budgets; Chicago Circle Campus; commencement; fraternity and sorority affairs; the Graduate College; health services; hiring freeze; Illini Union; insurance; the University Office of Public Affairs; Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE); legal council; Medical Center; property transactions; public information; retirement system; ROTC; UIC Medical Center; sabbatical leave applications and reports; scholarships and student financial aid; School of Social Work; state legislature; student activities; student employment; tuition; Higher Education Act of 1965; gifts and grants; other Universities; University of Illinois Foundation; search for UIUC Chancellor (1979); Alumni Association; the Beckman Institute; general assembly budget hearings; Chancellor search (Michael Aiken); Chief Illiniwek; Hearing: The Critical Need of R&D in the Midwest Labs videocassette (1982); Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE); Ikenberry UIC Endowment Scholarships; Citrus Bowl; hiring of Byron Higgins as University Counsel; Liberty Bowl; Midwest Universities Consortium for International Activities (MUCIA) bylaws; Sexual Harassment Policy; Smoking Policy; University Planning Council; and University Senates Conference.
Held at:
University of Illinois Archives
19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 333-0798
Fax: (217) 333-2868
Email: illiarch [at]
Record Series Number: 2/14/1
Created by: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Office of the University President
Volume: 333.0 cubic feet
Acquired: 06/03/1998. 22 cubic feet (boxes 36-57) were added in August 2006. 3 cubic feet were added in August 2014.
More information is available at
Arrangement: Chronological then alphabetical
Biographical Note for University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Office of the University President :

The President is the principal administrative officer of the University and a member of the faculty of each college, school, institute and division.1 The original charter designated the chief executive officer of the university as regent but this title was changed to President in 1894.2 The President is elected by the Board of Trustees and is responsible to them for the operation of the university.3 The President prepares budgets for presentation to the board, recommends persons to the Board for appointment to University positions, and is responsible for the enforcement of the rules and regulations of the University.4 On recommendation of the appropriate Senate and by authority of the Trustees, the President issues diplomas conferring degrees.5

This unit covers:

2/0 Reports of the President

2/1 John M. Gregory, April 1, 1867 - June 9, 1880 (Effective September 1,1880)

2/2 Selim H. Peabody, July 27, 1880 (Pro tempore) March 9, 1881 - June 10, 1891 (Effective September 1, 1891)

2/3 Thomas J. Burrill, August 7, 1891 - 1894 (Acting) April 1, 1904 - August 26, 1904 (Acting)

2/4 Andrew S. Draper, April 13, 1894 (Took office August 1, 1894) - April 1, 1904

2/5 Edmund J. James, August 26, 1904 - March 3, 1920 (Effective September 1, 1920)

2/6 David Kinley, September 1, 1920 - July 1, 1930

2/7 Harry W. Chase, July 5, 1930 - January 25, 1933 (Effective July 10, 1933)

2/8 Arthur H. Daniels, July 11, 1933 - June 30, 1934 (Acting)

2/9 Arthur C. Willard, July 1, 1934 - June 30, 1946

2/10 George D. Stoddard, July 1, 1946 - August 31, 1953

2/11 Lloyd Morey, September 1, 1953 (Acting) February 1, 1954 - August 31, 1955

2/12 David D. Henry, September 1, 1955 - August 31, 1971

2/13 John E. Corbally, Jr., September 1, 1971 - August 31, 1979

2/14 Stanley O. Ikenberry, September 1, 1979 ?

1. University of Illinois Statutes, July 18, 1979, Section 2, p. 3.

2. Board of Trustees Transactions, 17th Report, August 1, 1894, p. 269.

3. University of Illinois Statutes, July 18, 1979, Section 2, p. 3.

4. Ibid.

5. Ibid., p. 3-4

Access Restrictions: None. Open for public access.
Subject Index
Alumni Association
Beckman Institute
Council of Ten
Ford Foundation
Foundation, University of Illinois
Guggenheim Foundation
Higher Education
Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE)
Midwest Universities Consortium International Activities Mucia
Policy Statements
Presidents, University
Sabbatical Leave
Sexual Harassment
Teaching Appointments
Trustees, Board of
University Administration
Genres/Forms of Material
Languages of Materials
English [eng]
Acquisition Notes: The President's Office