Andrew S. Draper General Correspondence File, 1894-1905
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description: Correspondence received by Andrew S. Draper from trustees Lucy Flower, Laura Evans, Mary Carriel, Francis McKay, Alexander McLean, Julia Smith, Richard Morgan, Nelson Graham, Samuel Bullard and William McKinley on Board affairs; from university presidents Frank Strong, Charles Van Hise, Charles Thwing, William Thompson, Jacob Schurman, George MacLean, Cyrus Northrop, Edmund James, Richard Jesse, William Rainey Harper, G. Stanley Hall, Frank Gunsaulus and William Bryan on university administration, Morrill funds, trustee-president relations, entrance requirements, teacher certification, athletics, hazing, student regulations, curricula, salaries, appropriations, and technical and agricultural education. The correspondence includes letters from Illinois school superintendents, parents, teachers' agencies, interest groups and citizens on the College of Agriculture decline, legislative affairs, invitations to speak, solicitations, fraternities, student discipline, morality on campus, farmer's institutes, placement of graduates, correspondence schools, participation in expositions, university extension, Rhodes scholarships and athletics. Correspondents include Newton Dougherty, Lorado Taft, Jonathan Turner, Henry Dunlap, A. G. Judd, Charles Gibson, B. F. Harris, Gov. John Tanner, Gov. Richard Yates, Charles DeGarmo, Albert True, Frank Vanderlip, Herbert Putnam, Joe Cannon, William Lorimer, Frank Mann, R. T. Crane of Chicago on higher technical education Melvil Dewey on librarian Katherine Sharp, Robert H. Pratt, Indian School Service Supt. on the Carlisle "Indians," A. H. Pattengill, Chairman of Michigan's Athletic Board of Control on athletics, E. C. Ray, Presbyterian Board of Aid Secretary on public vs. sectarian institutions and W. T. Harris, Commissioner of Education, on plans for expansion of his office.
Held at:
University of Illinois Archives
19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 333-0798
Fax: (217) 333-2868
Email: illiarch [at]
Record Series Number: 2/4/1
Created by: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Office of the University President
Volume: 6.6 cubic feet
Acquired: September 1963
More information is available at
Arrangement: Alphabetical
Biographical Note for University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Office of the University President :

The President is the principal administrative officer of the University and a member of the faculty of each college, school, institute and division.1 The original charter designated the chief executive officer of the university as regent but this title was changed to President in 1894.2 The President is elected by the Board of Trustees and is responsible to them for the operation of the university.3 The President prepares budgets for presentation to the board, recommends persons to the Board for appointment to University positions, and is responsible for the enforcement of the rules and regulations of the University.4 On recommendation of the appropriate Senate and by authority of the Trustees, the President issues diplomas conferring degrees.5

This unit covers:

2/0 Reports of the President

2/1 John M. Gregory, April 1, 1867 - June 9, 1880 (Effective September 1,1880)

2/2 Selim H. Peabody, July 27, 1880 (Pro tempore) March 9, 1881 - June 10, 1891 (Effective September 1, 1891)

2/3 Thomas J. Burrill, August 7, 1891 - 1894 (Acting) April 1, 1904 - August 26, 1904 (Acting)

2/4 Andrew S. Draper, April 13, 1894 (Took office August 1, 1894) - April 1, 1904

2/5 Edmund J. James, August 26, 1904 - March 3, 1920 (Effective September 1, 1920)

2/6 David Kinley, September 1, 1920 - July 1, 1930

2/7 Harry W. Chase, July 5, 1930 - January 25, 1933 (Effective July 10, 1933)

2/8 Arthur H. Daniels, July 11, 1933 - June 30, 1934 (Acting)

2/9 Arthur C. Willard, July 1, 1934 - June 30, 1946

2/10 George D. Stoddard, July 1, 1946 - August 31, 1953

2/11 Lloyd Morey, September 1, 1953 (Acting) February 1, 1954 - August 31, 1955

2/12 David D. Henry, September 1, 1955 - August 31, 1971

2/13 John E. Corbally, Jr., September 1, 1971 - August 31, 1979

2/14 Stanley O. Ikenberry, September 1, 1979 ?

1. University of Illinois Statutes, July 18, 1979, Section 2, p. 3.

2. Board of Trustees Transactions, 17th Report, August 1, 1894, p. 269.

3. University of Illinois Statutes, July 18, 1979, Section 2, p. 3.

4. Ibid.

5. Ibid., p. 3-4

Subject Index
Agricultural Education
Higher Education
Illinois Farmers Institute
Indians of North America -- Music
Rhodes Scholarship
Student Discipline
Teacher Certification
Technical Education
Trustees, Board of
University Administration
Genres/Forms of Material
Languages of Materials
English [eng]