Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups
Log In | Contact UsView Cart (0)
Search PDF lists

Swan, John C. (1945-) | The American Library Association Archives

Name: Swan, John C. (1945-)

Historical Note:

<p style="background:#FEFEFE;vertical-align:baseline"> <span style="font-size:10.5pt;font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,sans-serif;color:#494949">John C. Swan was born in 1945. He was the Director of the Crossett Library at Bennington College. He was an active member and former chair of the Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) of the American Library Association (ALA). At the IFRT, he edited the IFRT Report, chaired the Publications Committee, and wrote the Leadership Handbook for IFRT officers and committee chairs. Swan also helped to establish the Eli M. Oboler Award for writing on intellectual freedom. He chaired the Indiana and Vermont Library Association intellectual freedom committees. Swan contributed articles to the Library Journal, and co-authored, with Noel Peattie, The Freedom to Lie: A Debate About Democracy.<o:p></o:p></span>

<p style="background:#FEFEFE;vertical-align:baseline"> <span style="font-size:10.5pt;font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,sans-serif;color:#494949">Swan passed away on January 26, 1994. He was posthumously awarded the 1994 John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award for Intellectual Freedom later that year.<o:p></o:p></span>


<p style="background:#FEFEFE;vertical-align:baseline"> <span style="font-size:10.5pt;font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,sans-serif;color:#494949">Noel Peattie and Sanford Berman, “Statement on John c. Swan, 1945-1994,”<o:p></o:p></span>

<p style="background:#FEFEFE;vertical-align:baseline"> <span style="font-size:10.5pt;font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,sans-serif;color:#494949">Sue Kamm, “So Long, John…Until We Meet Again,”<o:p></o:p></span>

<p style="background:#FEFEFE;vertical-align:baseline"> <span style="font-size:10.5pt;font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,sans-serif;color:#494949">“John Swan Dies”<o:p></o:p></span>

<p style="background:#FEFEFE;vertical-align:baseline"> <span style="font-size:10.5pt;font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,sans-serif;color:#494949">“IFRT Award Winners Announced”<o:p></o:p></span>

Note Author: Cheryl Trauscht

Page Generated in: 0.091 seconds (using 34 queries).
Using 5.64MB of memory. (Peak of 5.77MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-3
Copyright ©2017 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign