Administrative File, 1999-2004
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description: The Administrative File of the Coretta Scott King Book Award Committee, including planning files for award breakfasts (2001, 2003-04); book grant winners (2003); notes for discussion guides (2000); contracts (1999-2000); correspondence (2000-01); proposals; brochures; public awareness program (2001); and artwork for award seal.
Held at:
The American Library Association Archives
19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61802
Phone: 217 333 0798
Fax: 217 244 2868
Email: ala-archives [at]
Record Series Number: 56/43/7
Created by: Coretta Scott King Book Award Committee (1969-)
Volume: 0.2 Cubic Feet
Acquired: 05/08/2019.
Arrangement: Alphabetical
Biographical Note for Coretta Scott King Book Award Committee (1969-) :

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood. 

The Coretta Scott King Book Award was founded in 1969 by Mabel McKissick and Glyndon Greer at the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Atlantic City, New Jersey.  The first award was given to Lillie Patterson in 1970 for her biography, Martin Luther King, Jr.: Man of Peace (Garrard).

Access Restrictions: Permission to access restricted files must come from the Coretta Scott King Book Award Committee.
Subject Index
Coretta Scott King Award
King, Coretta Scott