Photograph File, 1989-91, 1993-94, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2007-08
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description: The photograph file of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards, including photographs (1989-91, 1993-94, 1997, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2007) and a DVD of 40th anniversary edition of the video "30 Years of Excellence: A Tribute" (2008). Includes photographs of Coretta Scott King, Rosa Parks, Henrietta Smith, Virginia Hamilton, EJ Josey, and Effie Lee Morris.
Held at:
The American Library Association Archives
19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61802
Phone: 217 333 0798
Fax: 217 244 2868
Email: ala-archives [at]
Record Series Number: 56/43/13
Created by: Coretta Scott King Book Award Committee (1969-)
Volume: 0.2 Cubic Feet
Acquired: 03/00/2019. 5/8/2019
Arrangement: Chronological
Biographical Note for Coretta Scott King Book Award Committee (1969-) :

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood. 

The Coretta Scott King Book Award was founded in 1969 by Mabel McKissick and Glyndon Greer at the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Atlantic City, New Jersey.  The first award was given to Lillie Patterson in 1970 for her biography, Martin Luther King, Jr.: Man of Peace (Garrard).

Subject Index
Coretta Scott King Award
Ethnic Materials Information Exchange Round Table
Hamilton, Virginia
Josey, E. J.
King, Coretta Scott
Morris, Effie Lee
Parks, Rosa
Smith, Henrietta M