Awards File, 1934-2009
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description: Award files of the Division's executive secretary, including applications and nominations, ballots, committee files, conferences and events, correspondence, publicity, reports, and recipients and winners of the Hans Christian Anderson Award (1955-63, 1979), Arbuthnot Honor Lecture (1968-1987), Aurianne Children's Book Award (1947-1966), Mildred l. Batchelder Award (1967-1987), Laura Ingalls Wilder Award (1954-1986, 1991), Dutton-Macrae Award (1968-1973), ALSC Distinguished Service Award (1990-1993), Econo-clad Literature Award (1990-1994), Hewins Scholarship (1959, 1963-1974), Melcher Scholarship & Bound to Stay Bound (1950-2005), Newbery-Caldecott Awards (1934-1989), Notable Children's Books List (1939-1992), Poetry Award (1961-1963), and Charles Scribners Sons & Putnam and Grosset Book Group Awards (1970-1993).
Held at:
The American Library Association Archives
19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61802
Phone: 217 333 0798
Fax: 217 244 2868
Email: ala-archives [at]
Record Series Number: 24/2/8
Created by: Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)
Volume: 6.3 Cubic Feet
Acquired: 04/26/0074. 2/5/98;7/25/97; 5/14/1999,9/25/08;10/12/10; 4/20/2017; 6/10/2021
More information is available at
Arrangement: Alphabetical, Chronological
Biographical Note for Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) :

The Association for Library Service to Children is responsible for the evaluation and selection of books and non-book library materials for the improvement of techniques of library service to children from preschool through eighth grade or junior high school age.

The Section for Library Work with Children was established in 1901 (1). On June 21, 1941, it merged with the Young People's Reading Round Table and the School Libraries Section to form the Division of Libraries for Children and Young People (2). In 1944 a part of its public library section became the Children's Library Association (3). It reached divisional status on January 1, 1957 (4) but retained the name Children's Library Association until January 28, 1958, when it became the Children's Library Services Division (5).

The Children's Library Services Division (CSD) is interested in the improvement and extension of library services to children in all types of libraries. CSD is responsible for the evaluation and selection of book and non-book library materials and the improvement of techniques of library services for children from preschool through the eighth grade or junior high school age, when such materials of techniques are intended for use in more than one type of library (6).

In 1977 CSD changed its name to Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) (7).

Access Restrictions: This series has restrictions. Discussion of eligibility, and suggestion and nomination lists are restricted for 50 years. Vote tallies, ballots, and committee member names associated with suggested and nominated titles and justifications are restricted indefinitely. Please contact the ALA Archives for further information.
Subject Index
Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC)
Aurienne Award
Caldecott Award
Children's Library Association
Children's Services Division (CSD)
Hans Christian Andersen Award
Hewins Fund
Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture
Melcher Scholarships
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Newbery-Caldecott Award Committee
Newbery-Caldecott Awards
Newbery-Caldecott Committee
Newbery Award
Notable Children's Books
Languages of Materials
English [eng]