Exhibition Awards Committee, 1985-2005, 2010-2011
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description: Award Committee Files for the annual Leab Award contains award correspondence, nomination packets, media profiles, press releases and articles from 1986-1998. Files of Committee Chairs Sally Leach (1984-88), Patricia Bozeman (1988-91), Marvin Taylor (1991-93), Elaine Smyth (1993-95), and Claudia Funke (2001-03). Also includes agendas, new releases, rosters, lists of submitted catalogs, photographs, slides, negatives of winning catalog covers, accounts, and correspondence concerning the Daniel and Katherine Leab endowment fund, Rare Books and Manuscripts Libraries articles, conference arrangements, submissions, awards presentations, and the history of the committee.
Held at:
The American Library Association Archives
19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61802
Phone: 217 333 0798
Fax: 217 244 2868
Email: ala-archives [at] library.illinois.edu
Record Series Number: 22/18/40
Created by: Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), Rare Books and Manuscripts Section
Volume: 1.3 Cubic Feet
Acquired: 6/23/93; 10/17/97; 9/17/02; 11/02; added 0.1 cubic feet on 8/19/05; 10/9/07; 2/19/13
More information is available at https://files.archon.library.illinois.edu/alasfa/2218040a.pdf
Arrangement: Chronologically, then by type of material
Biographical Note for Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) :

According to its 1980 statement of Responsibility, "The mission of the ACRL is to represent academic and research librarians and libraries. This includes all types of academic libraries-community and junior colleges, college and university-as well as comprehensive and specialized libraries and their professional staffs. ACRL also has as its mission the enhancement of library service, in the broadest sense, to the academic research communities" (1).

The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) fulfills its mission through programs of identification and evaluation of book and nonbook materials, by issuing statements on library standards, and by concerning itself with the role, function, and status of the academic librarian (2).

The Association first met in 1889, under the title of the College and Reference Section of ALA (3). In June of 1938, the membership voted to change the name to the Association of College and Reference Libraries (4). Under this name, ACRL was accepted as a division by the ALA Council in May, 1940 (5). A 1942 revision of ACRL bylaws provided for the establishment of state, regional, and local chapters (6). The name was changed to the Association of College and Research Libraries in 1957 (7).

The organizational structure of ACRL was streamlined in 1979-80 to provide for a 13-member Board of Directors which includes the three officers )President, Past President, and Vice-President/President-Elect) and the Executive Director (8). ACRL publications include the bimonthly College and Research Libraries, the monthly College and Research Libraries News, the monthly book selection journal Choice, and occasional ACRL Publications in Librarianship. ACRL has sponsored national conferences and has presented the Academic/Research Librarian of the Year award annually since 1978 (10).

Subject Index
Awards Committee
Exhibition Catalogs
Rare Books
Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (ACRL)
Languages of Materials
English [eng]