Minutes and Reports, 1974-1977, 1980-1988
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description: Minutes and agenda of the Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) Executive Committee and Membership annual and midwinter meetings, and IFRT Reports from the Chairperson, concerning the Immroth Memorial Award for Intellectual Freedom; the State Chapter Intellectual Freedom Award; membership promotion; support of the Freedom to Read foundation and the LeRoy C. Merritt Humanitarian Fund; IFRT bylaws, budget, objectives, annual and midwinter program schedules; news of intellectual freedom and censorship controversies and publications, and materials concerning the Eli Oboler award (1987-1988).
Held at:
The American Library Association Archives
19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61802
Phone: 217 333 0798
Fax: 217 244 2868
Email: ala-archives [at] library.illinois.edu
Record Series Number: 44/1/1
Created by: Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT)
Volume: 0.2 Cubic Feet
Acquired: 1/9/1981; 5/14/1999
Arrangement: Alphabetical by subject and chronological thereunder
Biographical Note for Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) :

The American Library Association (ALA) Council established the Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) in June 1973 (1). IFRT's functions and activities are:

1. To operate as a communications channel on matters concerning intellectual freedom

2. To provide a forum for discussing activities, programs, and problems concerned with intellectual freedom for libraries and librarians

3. To promote a greater opportunity for involvement of ALA members in the defense of intellectual freedom

4. To promote a greater feeling of responsibility in implementing ALA intellectual freedom policies (2).

The activities of the IFRT are closely connected with those of the Intellectual Freedom Committee of the ALA, the Merrit Fund, and the Freedom to Read Foundation (3). IFRT publishes occasional reports. News of the Round Table's activities is listed in two of the Office of Intellectual Freedom's publications: Memorandum and Newsletter on Intellectual Freedom (4).

IFRT established the John Phillip Imroth Award in 1977 to recognize outstanding contributions to intellectual freedom (5). IFRT is governed by a chairperson, vice-chairperson, secretary, and treasurer (6).


1-Executive Committee


Subject Index
Freedom to Read Foundation
Immroth Memorial Award for Intellectual Freedom
Intellectual Freedom
Intellectual Freedom Round Table
Merritt, Leroy C., Humanitarian Fund
Languages of Materials
English [eng]