College of Literature and Arts Letterbooks, 1897-1910
[Back to Formatted Version]
Brief Description:

Letterpress copybooks containing copies of correspondence of Deans David Kinley (1897-1906) and Evarts B. Greene (1906-1910) of the College of Literature and Arts, sent to Presidents Andrew S. Draper and Edmund J. James, other deans, department heads, faculty, students, parents, faculty and administrators at other universities, relating to college reports to the president, college and departmental administration, faculty committees and meetings, departmental and staff requests, recruitment of faculty, faculty salaries, letters of recommendation, buildings and grounds, equipment, printing, courses and curricula, course enrollment, summer school, visiting lecturers, graduate work, secondary schools and school visitation, scholastic standing of students placed on probation, the work of historical associations (1906-10) and related topics,

Correspondents include: Clarence W. Alvord, Herbert J. Barton, Thomas J. Burrill, Thomas A. Clark, Stephen S. Colvin, Richard T. Ely, George M. Fisk, Guy S. Ford, James W. Garner, Chester N. Greenough, Charles H. Haskins, Horace A. Hollister, Thomas F. Kane, Julia Lathrop, Thomas E. Oliver, William L. Pillsbury, Charles Rammelkamp, Katherine L. Sharp, Edgar J. Townsend, Jessie P. Weber, James M. White and historians.

Each volume contains an alphabetical index to correspondence.

Held at:
University of Illinois Archives
19 Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 333-0798
Fax: (217) 333-2868
Email: illiarch [at]
Record Series Number: 15/1/4
Created by: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Volume: 2.6 cubic feet
Acquired: 9/1963; 10/71
More information is available at
Arrangement: Chronological
Biographical Note for University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. College of Liberal Arts and Sciences :

The dean's office of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences was formed in 1913, when the College of Literature and the Arts and the College of Science were combined.1

The primary duties of the dean are that of chief executive officer of the college and agent of the college faculty for the execution of the college educational policy. Among his other duties, the dean calls and presides over faculty meetings, makes faculty appointments and promotions, prepares the budget, and oversees the registration of the students.2

Under the dean are the four schools (Life Sciences, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Chemical Sciences) and 75 fields of study which comprise the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.3 This includes the administration of the General Curriculum, which was formerly the Division of General Studies, and is for freshmen and sophomores who have not chosen a field of study yet.4

1. Board of Trustees Transactions, 27th Report, March 11, 1913, p. 200.

2. Faculty Handbook of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 1968-69, p. 10.

3. Undergraduate Programs, 1977-79, p. 313-14.

4. Board of Trustees Transactions, 54th Report, April 17, 1968, p. 996.

Subject Index
Political Science
Social Work
Genres/Forms of Material
Languages of Materials
English [eng]